Happy Birthday to A Very Special Lady…

Today is the day that my family is celebrating my grandmother, mother to my father, and her being born some odd estimation of NOT ALLOWED TO KNOW years ago.

She’s amazing. Really, she is.

She bakes the most delicious bread ever. As well as the greatest coconut cream pie ever. (She’s passed on many great recipes over the years, actually….)

She’s very smart, and sometimes snarky- but in a good way. She has a wonderful sense of humor.

She knows almost every single thing there is to know about gems and precious minerals. She watches the Gem Shopping channels every day, and when I watch with her, she tells me why this shade of jade is prized over another, or why the price with 5 zeroes is actually quite a bargain for a certain piece.

She watches cop shows of all kinds, and we watch NCIS reruns together while waiting for the new ones.

She yells at the news and questions rather important or personal things about politicians, and famous people of questionable quality.

She loves chocolate, and shares truffles and Hershey’s and chocolate covered almonds when we talk.

And she makes the absolutely best breakfast sausages ever. They taste the best while sitting in her living room, talking to her about school.

She used to be a teacher, and taught voice and piano, and a few other instruments I think. She leads my family when we sing karaoke, and likes songs from Restless Heart, or Phantom of the Opera, or old blues and soft songs. She loves it when my father and his sister, my aunt, sing together.

She loves her husband, my Papa, who is quiet and funny and likes cats, and one of the strongest people I know. They met in college, and all of her friends were jealous because he was so handsome (And still is).

She won a beauty contest. I think she’s just as beautiful now as then. Only now she has a more serious, stately grace.

She’s one of the most amazing people in the world, and I love her very much.

She is my Nana.

We call her and Papa Nana Buzzard and Papa Buzzard.

They’ve lived in New Jersey part of the time, and Texas in the other part.

They moved back to Texas permanently. It’s where our family’s blood lies.

So today, my family and I will celebrate her. That’s why this post is late; because I’ve been cleaning and prepping for tonight.

Tonight, where we’ll all gather around, and wish her happy birthday.

I’ll give her a Behemoth-sized hug. (And one for Papa too.)

And I’ll think to myself how lucky I am.

Everyone, today should be a day to think of a family member; even if not by blood, if you think of them as family, think of them today. And thank whatever deity, force, or theory you choose, that they are in your life. And maybe call them, if not go to see them.

Let them know how important they are.

Happy birthday Nana! I love you so much!

Jack

About spydersquirrel

Drawing, writing, costuming, martial arts, steampunk, KH, and reading any subject on Earth are just a few of my favorite things... I encourage the use of the word 'abscond' and believe that hats and boots were God's gift to humanity.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment