A Rather Late Beastie

Heyyyyyy ya’ll (XD

This post is of course a day late (as you can tell), mostly because I got home late yesterday and forgot that I needed to post… and then I slept in till about 1:30pm today XD

But I have the sketchy monster thing I was working on all of last night while away to share with you! Yay!

So it’s not like previous Midnight Monsters, where I actually have a semi-fleshed out idea of the beastie and its characteristics- I don’t. I have absolutely no idea what this thing eats, its actual backstory… the only thing I know is that I kinda had a vague idea in my brain for a rather insect-like creature, and that it lived in a cave.

So I sketched this initial pic:

Yeeeeaaaahhh.... *shrug* XD

Yeeeeaaaahhh…. *shrug* XD

Aaaaand I don’t really know what to explain about it… I mean, for all I know it eats cave fungi and just uses the horn-thing and its spiky tongue for self-defense, or stabbing shrooms. Or, ya know, for stabbing miners and eating their skulls: who knows?? *shrug* Not me.

And then I started to color it:

Oooh glowy

Oooh glowy… I really need to figure out the color of the tongue… *sigh* decisions…

And obviously I haven’t finished yet. So… S’glowy… and kinda wriggly like a wrym, but scuttly like a centipede or pill bug… aaand when sketching without a clear idea for a head, it’s evident that I will automatically default to something dragon/dinosaur-ish. ‘Cause I’m great at drawing those from the top of my head.

…The thing really looks unstable without a background, like it’s floating in mid-air or something XD

Anywho. That’s the big thing I have this week. Sorry not to post last weekend; yet again, I forgot. *sigh* Hate it, but it’s true.

Wish me luck this week, as I have a taekwondo testing on Tuesday! Yayyyy I’m gonna diiiie…. I’m terrified of failing XD I’m testing for black belt recommended, so… gotta be perfect. *cross fingers* Hopefully I’ll do well!

Anyway, till next weekend (hopefully),

have a great week!

Jack.

About spydersquirrel

Drawing, writing, costuming, martial arts, steampunk, KH, and reading any subject on Earth are just a few of my favorite things... I encourage the use of the word 'abscond' and believe that hats and boots were God's gift to humanity.
This entry was posted in Drawings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Rather Late Beastie

  1. Isabella says:

    Wonderful drawing!! 🙂
    Keep up the great work!
    XX,
    Isabella

  2. Kathy says:

    Nobody is going to mess with this girl with her black belt and creepy monster

Leave a comment